Why BJP won Chandigarh civic elections? Young faces bring glory

chandigarhCHANDIGARH: The Chandigarh Municipal Corporation elections dealt a blow to the Congress as the party lost to the BJP-Shiromani Akali Dal combine. The results declared on Monday shook Union parliamentary affairs minister Pawan Bansal, an MP from Chandigarh said to wield immense clout in city politics.

The defeat comes a month-and-a-half before Punjab goes to polls, with Congress pitted against the ruling SAD- BJP combine. Congress’s share in the 26-member general board of the civic body came down from 14 in 2006 to 11 this time. BJP increased its tally from six to 10. With this, the SAD-BJP combine will form the board. The BSP managed two seats and independent one.

The results also signal winds of change blowing through Chandigarh, with as many as 20 new faces and the fall of many a stalwart like Satinder Dhawan, wife of BJP leader Harmohan Dhawan.

Political observers say all political parties — Congress, BJP, SAD and BSP — gave tickets to young candidates, a move that got voters a better choice.

From Congress Gurbax Rawat, 30, defeated SAD’s Inderjeet Kaur in ward number 9, while Satish Kainth, 39, defeated BJP candidate Satyawal Shera in ward number 20.

In BJP, Saurabh Joshi, 30, defeated a strong Congress candidatefrom ward number 2, while Davesh Moudgil, 35, defeated sitting congress councilor Jatinder Bhatia from ward number 22. Arun Sood, 40, defeated Rajesh Sharma from ward number 8.

In BSP, Jannat Jahan-ul-haq defeated Anita Tiwari from Congress in ward number 23, while Naresh Kumar, 32, defeated his rival BJP candidate Raj Kishore in ward number 19.

Malkiat Singh, 32, a Shiromani Akali Dal candidate defeated Jasbir Singh in ward number 10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *